Teaching and Learning

Department of Teaching and Learning

College of Education


Eastburn Education Center, room 120

NAU, PO Box 5774, Flagstaff, AZ 86011-5774

928-523-9316 (fax 928-523-9284)


Department Chair

Sherry Markel

Undergraduate Programs

You may pursue the following academic plans through the College of Education’s Department of Teaching and Learning:

Through these plans, we strive to prepare you for applied work in school settings. Our faculty members represent a wide diversity of educational expertise and have considerable experience working at all levels of education. Through their guidance, we seek to provide graduates with the knowledge and skills to create the schools of tomorrow.


Click here to view ourTeacher Education Program admissions requirements.   Click on any of the plans above to view  the requirements for each individual academic plans. Click here to view information about endorsements to state teaching certifications.


Click here for more information about our ECI undergraduate courses, graduate courses, and faculty.


Graduate Information

You may pursue the following programs in the department of teaching and learning:  

In addition to our master's and doctoral programs, we offer programs to prepare you for post-degree state certification in elementary education, and secondary education in various content areas.  


If you have completed a bachelor's degree in a field other than education and wish to become certified to teach in the public schools, you may do so by completing additional coursework that may or may not include graduate courses. To pursue post-degree state certification, please be aware that you must be admitted to the teacher education program.  


For information about state teacher certification programs, contact COE’s Student Services (PO Box 5774, Flagstaff, AZ 86011-5774, 520-523-2209).   


We also offer a nondegree program leading to a state reading specialist endorsement (click for more information).


Click here for more information about our ECI undergraduate courses, graduate courses, and faculty.