Health Sciences Faculty

Name &Title

Credentials

Focus

At NAU

Christine Ahmed, Ph.D., Associate Professor

 

Christine.Ahmed@nau.edu

(B.S., St.. Cloud University; M.S., University of Wisconsin - La Crosse; Ph.D., Texas Woman's University 1994)

Tobacco prevention, school health, women's health

NAU 2007

Rita Cruz Begay, Dr.P.H., Assistant Professor

 

Cruz.Begay@nau.edu

(B.S., M.P.H., Dr.P.H., University of California–Berkeley 1986)

Rural health, American Indian health

NAU 2001

 

Rachel Billowitz, M.P.H

(M.P.H The University of Arizona)

Public Health

NAU 1999

Laura Bounds, M.S., Assistant Clinical Professor

 

Laura.Bounds@nau.edu

B.B.A. Accounting, Texas A&M University: M.S. Health Sciences, Texas A&M University 1997

Certified Health Education Instructor, CPR/ First Aid Instructor, Emergency Response Instructor, American Council on Exercise: Group Fitness Instructor.

 

Roger Bounds, Ph.D., Assistant Clinical Professor

 

Roger.Bounds@nau.edu

(B.S., M.S., Ph.D., Texas A&M University 2000)

 

Allied health education, distance education, fitness education, substance abuse

 

NAU 2001

 

Betty Brown, Ph.D., M.P.H.,  Assistant Professor

 

 Betty.Brown@nau.edu

 

(B.A. French, Southern Methodist University; M.A. French Literature, University of Cincinnati; B.S.R.N. Nursing, University of Texas; M.P.H. Epidemiology, Tulane University, 1980; Ph.D. Sociology, Arizona State University 2007)

 

NAU 1998

Stephanie Cotton, M.A.,  Instructor

 

Stephanie.Cotton@nau.edu

 

B.S. Audiology and Speech Language Pathology, Florida State University 1998; M.A.  Communication Sciences and Disorders, University of Texas at Austin 2000

 

NAU 2004

William R. Culbertson, Ph.D., CCC-SLP, Professor

 

Bill.Culbertson@nau.edu

(B.A., University of Richmond; M.S., Old Dominion University; Ph.D., Michigan State University 1981)

Motor speech disorders, anatomy and physiology, phonology

 

NAU 1993

 

Gary Dunagan, M.A.,  Instructor

 

 Gary.Dunagan@nau.edu

(B.S., M.A., Northern Arizona University 1987)

Physical education activities, activities for special populations

NAU 1989

Ellen Larson, M.S., C.H.E.S., Instructor

 

 Ellen.Larson@nau.edu

 

(B.S. State University of New York, College at Cortland, Cortland, N.Y.; M.S. University of New Mexico, Albuquerque, N.M.;  

Certified Health Education Specialist )

Health Standards & Assessment Trainer

Certified K-12 Health and Physical Education Instructor

NAU 2000

Deborah J. McCormick, Ph.D., Associate Clinical Professor

 

 

Debby.McCormick@nau.edu

(B.S., University of Mary-Hardin Baylor; M.S., Baylor University; Ph.D., Texas A&M University 1995)

Distance education, social and emotional health, service learning

 

NAU 1999

 

Stephen Palmer, Ph.D., Assistant Professor

 

Steve.Palmer@nau.edu

(B.A., M.A., California State University–Chico; Ph.D., Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University 2001)

Physical education pedagogy, web-based instruction

 

NAU 2001

 

John P. Sciacca, Ph.D., Professor

 

John.Sciacca@nau.edu

(B.S., University of Massachusetts; M.A., Central Michigan University; M.P.H., University of Hawaii; Ph.D., Purdue University 1986)

Peer health education, program evaluation, health promotion, behavior change

 

NAU 1985

Dennis Tanner, Ph.D.

 

(B.S., M.S. Idaho State University; Ph.D. Michigan State University)

Speech Science, aphasia, stuttering

 

NAU 1976

Bill Wiist, DHSc, MPH, MS; Professor, Department Chair

 

Bill.Wiist@nau.edu

(M.S., Walla Walla College; DHSc and MPH Loma Linda University, 1975)

Violence prevention, religion and health, social determinants of health

NAU 2006

 

Adjunct Faculty

James Galloway, M.D.

 

(B.S., M.D., Virginia Commonwealth University, M.D. Medical College of Virginia, 1982)

Cardiology, American Indian/Alaskan Native Health Promotion.

NAU 2004

Cristine C. Henry,  Dr.P.H.

(B.S., Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University; M.S., M.P.H., Dr.P.H., University of South Carolina 1999)

Health education

NAU 1996

Priscilla Sanderson, Ph.D.

(B.A., Southwestern College; M.S., Oklahoma State University; Ph.D., University of Arizona 2005)

Disability and rehabilitation research for American Indians with disabilities, breast cancer among Native women, community needs assessments

 

NAU 1992

 

Kathleen Stafford

 

(BS, City University, 2003)

Health Administration

NAU 2005

Mark Veazie, Dr.P.H.

 

(B.S., M.P.H., University of Washington–Seattle; Dr.P.H., Johns Hopkins University 1995

Public health

 

NAU 2003

 

Nancy Williams, Ph.D.

 

(B.S. Duke University; M.S. University of Arizona; M.P.H. UCLA; Ph.D. UCLA 1994, Ph.D. NAU 2004)

Behavioral Science and Health Education

 

Faculty Emeriti

Paul Brynteson, D.P.E., Professor Emeritus

 

 

Paul.Brynteson@nau.edu

(B.A., Concordia College; M.P.H., University of Arizona; M.S., D.P.E., Springfield College 1998)

Health fitness, health promotion, health planning

NAU 1993 (Retired 2008)

Alan F. Flitcraft, M.S., Associate Professor

 

(B.S., M.S., Florida State University 1966

Physical education

 

NAU 1966 (retired 1997)