NTAA: Resources

NTAA Outreach to States requesting Tribal consultation on State Implementation Plans to Regulate Greenhouse Gas Emissions.

In July/August, 2018, NTAA sent letters to 19 States, plus the District of Columbia requesting Tribal consultation on State Implementation Plans to Regulate Greenhouse Gas Emissions. In October 2017, the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) filed notice of its proposal to repeal the Clean Power Plan (CPP). In December 2017, the EPA also issued an Advanced Notice of Proposed Rulemaking (ANPR) to “solicit information from the public about a potential future rulemaking to limit greenhouse gas emissions from existing electricity generating units, commonly called power plants.” Because the EPA now interprets the Clean Air Act (CAA), Sec. 111(d), to defer to the States to establish appropriate standards of performance for existing sources, NTAA sent these letters to indicate Tribes’ interest in working with the State on issues of interest and importance to the Tribes, including the State’s view of establishing standards, the establishment of standards, and outreach to the Tribes.

Click here for more information on NTAA’s responses to the proposed repeal of the Clean Power Plan.

Click on a state below to be quickly taken to information about letters sent to it:

State Institution Department Person Letters sent
Alaska Division of Air Quality Department of Environmental Conservation Denise Koch 8/1/18
Arizona Arizona department of Environmental Quality Air Quality Division Timothy Franquist 8/8/18
California California Air Resources Board Office of the Chair Mary Nichols 8/8/18
Connecticut Connecticut Department of Energy and Environmental Protection Air Agency Anne Gobin, Bureau Chief 8/1/18
Delaware Department of Natural Resources & Environmental Control(DNREC) Division of Air Quality Ali Mirzakhalili, P. E. Director 8/7/18
District of Columbia Department of Energy and Environment (DOEE) Director: Tommy Wells Energy: Teresa Lawrence 8/7/18
Idaho Idaho Department of Environmental Quality Air Quality Division Air Quality Division Administrator Tiffany Floyd 8/1/18
Illinois Illinois Environmental Protection Agency The Bureau of Air Alec Messina, Director 8/7/18
Iowa Iowa Department of natural Resources (DRN) Air Quality Bureau Catherine Fitzsimmons 7/27/18
Maine Maine Department of Environmental Protection Air Quality Bureau Bureau Director - Marc Cone 7/27/18
Maryland Department of the Environment Ben Grumbles, Secretary
Hannah Ashenafi, Air Quality
Massachusetts Massachusetts Environmental Protection
Air Quality & Climate Action They have several departments
Could not find any director name
Minnesota Minnesota Pollution Control Agency Commissioner: John Linc Stine
Assistant Commissioner Air Policy:
David Thornton
Nevada Nevada Division of Environmental Protection Bureau of Air Quality Planning

Bureau of Air pollution Control
Danilo Dragoni

Lisa Kremer
New Hampshire New Hampshire Department of Environmental Services Air Resources Division Craig Wright, Director 7/27/18
New Mexico New Mexico Environment Department Air Quality Bureau 8/1/18
New York NYS Department of Environmental Conservation Division of Air Resources (DAR) Director of Department: DJ Evans 8/7/18
Oregon Department of Environmental Quality Air Quality Director: Richard Whitman
AQ division Administrator: Ali Mirzakhalili
Rhode Island Department of Environmental Management (DEM) Air Resources Laurie Grandchamp, Chief 7/27/18
Vermont Department of Environmental Conservation Air Quality and Climate Division Director: Heidi Hales 7/27/18
Virginia The Virginia Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) Air Division Director of Air Division: Michael Dowd

Director DEQ: DEQ Director, David K. Paylor
Washington Department of Ecology Air Quality Department Director: Maia Bellon 8/1/18
Back to Top

Click Here to Join NTAA as a Member Tribe

The National Tribal Air Association is funded
through a grant from the United States
Environmental Protection Agency's
Office of Air & Radiation (OAR)

National Tribal Air Association • PO Box 15004 • Flagstaff, AZ 86011 • (928)523-0526 • (928)523-1266 (fax)