Trainings:

Trainings & Events

2019 Webinars
Please click title below to expand and close Webinar information.

Part 3: Why Conduct a Vulnerability Assessment Webinar?

This webinar is an installment of the Topics in Climate Change Adaptation Planning webinar series and hosted by the Institute for Tribal Environmental Professionals (ITEP) Climate Change Program.

Webinar video:
Click HERE for video.
Presentations:
Miles Gordan Presentation [pdf]
CSKT Climate Change Strategic Plan Presentation [pdf]


Presenters:
Mike (Michael) Durglo, Jr., Tribal Preservation Department Head, Confederated Salish & Kootenai Tribes (CSKT)
Michael.Durglo@cskt.org

Derek Kauneckis, Phd., Associate Professor, Voinovich School of Leadership & Public Affairs - Ohio University
kaunecki@ohio.edu

Miles Gordon, Voinovich School of Leadership & Public Affairs - Ohio University
miles.gordon7@gmail.com

Anna Palmer, Research Faculty, Earth & Ecosystem Science - Desert Research Institute
Anna.Palmer@dri.edu

Resources:
CSKT CC Adaptation Plan
Miles Gordon: Thesis – Ohio University
Fourth National Climate Assessment-Tribes and Indigenous Peoples

This webinar is an installment of the Topics in Climate Change Adaptation Planning webinar series and hosted by the Institute for Tribal Environmental Professionals (ITEP) Climate Change Program.

Volume II of the Fourth National Climate Assessment(NCA4)summarizes the impacts of climate change on the United States, now and in the future. A team of more than 300 experts guided by a Federal SteeringCommittee produced the report, which was extensively reviewed by the public and experts, including federal agencies and a panel of the National Academy of Sciences. The report includes a Tribes and Indigenous Peoples chapter (Chapter 15) as well as regional and sectoral chapters.

Join us as NCA4 authors share an overview of the recently released assessment. Hearabout howauthors integrated indigenous issues and actions across the entire NCA4 through communicating with regional and sectoral chapter leads and supportingopportunities for input from tribes.In addition to the review of NCA4 an interactive mapping application will also be demonstrated https://biamaps.doi.gov/nca/
Webinar video:
Click here for video.
Presentations:
NCA4 Process Overview [pdf]
NCA4 Caribbean, SE, SW, NW [pdf]
NCA4 Ch15 Tribes and Indigenous Peoples Presentation [pdf]
NCA4 NGP, SGP, HI, AK [pdf]
NCA4 IPAMap [pdf]
NCA4 ITEP Webinar NE-MW 02072019p [ppsx]


Presenters:
Rachael Novak, BIA Tribal Resilience Coordinator, Bureau of Indian Affairs
Rachael.Novak@bia.gov

Lesley Jantarasami, Senior Climate Policy Analyst, Oregon Department of Energy
ljantarasami@gmail.com

Shannon McNeeley, Ph.D, Research Scientist, Colorado State University
Shannon.McNeeley@colostate.edu

Julie Maldonado, Ph.D, Livelihoods Knowledge Exchange Network
jkmaldo@gmail.com

Chris Caldwell, Director of Sustainable Development Institute, College of Menominee Nation
ccaldwell@menominee.edu

David O’Donnell, Senior GIS Analyst, BIA Tribal Resilience Program (Contractor)
david.o'donnell@bia.gov



For more information please contact:
Nikki Cooley, Co-Manager
928/523-7046
Nikki.Cooley@nau.edu
Karen Cozzetto, Co-Manager
928/523-6758
Karen.Cozzetto@nau.edu